Kansas State University

  1. K-State Home
  2. »Agronomy Home
  3. »K-State Agronomy eUpdates eUpdates
  4. »eUpdate 746 May 10th, 2019»K-State wheat plot tours for May 13-17, 2019

K-State Agronomy eUpdates eUpdates

Department of Agronomy

Kansas State University

1712 Claflin Rd.

2004 Throckmorton PSC

Manhatan, KS 66506

785-532-6101

agronomy@ksu.edu

Extension Agronomy

K-State wheat plot tours for May 13-17, 2019


The week of May 13-17 features several wheat plot tours in Kansas. Producers wanting to learn about the different varieties can choose to attend one (or several) plot tours in their county or agricultural district.

The plot tours generally include a discussion of wheat conditions across the state, as well as tips on what to look for when selecting wheat varieties. New and upcoming varieties are discussed, as well as older and more established ones, and a discussion of how all these varieties are responding to this growing season’s conditions.

For the week of May 13-17, the plot tour locations include:

Monday, 5/13/2019, 7:30 am
Location: Kinsley, Edwards Co.
Contact: Marty Gleason, mgleason@ksu.edu
Directions: Breakfast at Edwards Co Fair Bdlg (1305 S Niles) followed by plots at Ardell Road, junction of O Road and 50th Ave. (2.5 miles South of Highway 50)

Monday, 5/13/2019, 6:00 pm
Location: Larned, Pawnee Co.
Contact: Kyle Grant, kkgrant@ksu.edu
Directions: 5miles north of Larned on Toles Road, ½ west and 1 and ½ north on the east side of the road NW 28-20-16

Tuesday, 5/14/2019, 8:00 am
Location: Minneola, Clark Co.
Contact: Brice Gibson, begibson@ksu.edu
Directions: Intersection of CR A and CR 7. 2 mi north of Minneola, on Hwy 283, turn east, drive 1 mi on CR A to CR 7 and turn south, drive 1/4 mi. Breakfast will be served at the Methodist Church, 231 Main St, following the tour.

Tuesday, 5/14/2019, 12:00 pm
Location: Ashland, Clark Co.
Contact: Brice Gibson, begibson@ksu.edu
Directions: 2mi.  West of Int. of River Rd and CR Z. South on River Rd 5 miles and turn on CR Z and turn west and drive 2 miles on CR Z. Lunch will be served at the Clark County Fairgrounds, 1200 S Kentucky, following the tour.

Tuesday, 5/14/2019, 6:30 pm
Location: Dodge City, Ford Co.
Contact: Andrea Burns, aburns@ksu.edu
Directions: Hwy 50 Bypass and 116 Road

Wednesday, 5/15/2019, 10:30 am
Location: Commanche/Kiowa Co.
Contact: Aaron Sawyers/Wade Reh, asawyers@ksu.edu and wreh@ksu.edu
Directions: It will be in Kiowa County just east of the 21st Avenue and X Street intersection. To find the plot, go west of Highway 183 on the Comanche/Kiowa (Y St.) County Line Road for 3 miles then 1 mile north on 21st Avenue.

Thursday, 5/16/2019, 10:00 am
Location: Partridge, Reno Co.
Contact: Daryl Strouts, dstrouts@ksu.edu
Directions: SCK Red Field - From Partridge, head 1.5 miles west of Patridge on Trail West Road. Then go 1/2 mile south on S High Point Road. Plot will be on the east side of the road.

Thursday, 5/16/2019, 10:30 am
Location: Isabel, Barber/Pratt Co.
Contact: Justin Goodno, jgoodno@ksu.edu
Directions: Junction of K-42 and Main St

Thursday, 5/16/2019, 5:30 pm
Location: Kingman
Contact: Kallie Turner, kalliet@ksu.edu
Directions: 7681 SW 80th Avenue. Head West on US-400/ US-54 for 9.4 miles. Turn left onto SW 90 Ave., continue for 8 miles. Turn left onto SW 80th St., continue 1.4 miles. Wheat Plot will be on the right.

Friday, 5/17/2019, 9:00 am
Location: Marquette, McPherson Co.
Contact: Shad Marston, smarston@ksu.edu
Directions: Patrick Plot- Marquette on Highway 4

Friday, 5/17/2019, 12:00 pm
Location: Mound Ridge, McPherson Co.
Contact: Shad Marston, smarston@ksu.edu
Directions: Noon Lunch- Black Kettle Park. 1:00 pm - Galle Plot- Cherokee Rd & 22nd Ave (2 miles North of Moundridge 1/4 mile East)

Friday, 5/17/2019, 4:00 pm
Location: Inman, McPherson Co.
Contact: Shad Marston, smarston@ksu.edu
Directions: Schroeder Plot- 4th Ave and Cheyenne Rd (4 miles West of Inman and 1 mile North)

 

The eUpdate will highlight upcoming tours each week. Stay tuned!

 

 

Romulo Lollato, Extension Wheat Specialist
lollato@ksu.edu

Erick DeWolf, Extension Wheat Pathologist
dewolf1@ksu.edu