Kansas State University

  1. K-State Home
  2. »Agronomy Home
  3. »K-State Agronomy eUpdates
  4. »eUpdate 668 January 12th, 2018»Prescribed Burning workshops scheduled for 2018

K-State Agronomy eUpdates

Department of Agronomy

Kansas State University

1712 Claflin Rd.

2004 Throckmorton PSC

Manhatan, KS 66506

785-532-6101

agronomy@ksu.edu

Extension Agronomy

Prescribed Burning workshops scheduled for 2018

Several Prescribed Burning workshops are currently scheduled for the remainder of the winter in Kansas, with the possibility of more upon request.   The agencies involved include K-State Research and Extension, USDA-NRCS, USDA-FSA, Department of Wildlife, Parks, and Tourism, National Weather Service, and the Kansas Prescribed Fire Council.

Each workshop lasts about 4-5 hours and includes topics on reasons for burning, regulations, weather considerations, liability, burn contractors, equipment and crew, hazards, fuels, firebreaks, fire types and behavior, ignition techniques, and burn plans.

Contact Walt Fick at 785-532-7223 or whfick@ksu.edu if you would like to host a prescribed burning workshop.
 

Workshop

Date

Location

Host/Contact

Agency

Phone

e-mail

Stafford Co.

Jan. 23

Hudson

Glenn Newdigger

KPFC

620-549-3502

gnewdigg@ksu.edu

Clay Co.

Feb. 20

Clay Center

Benjamin Hanson

FSA

785-632-3550

ben.hanson@ks.usda.gov

Reno Co.

Feb. 21

South Hutchinson

Jess Crockford

KPFC

620-669-8161

Jess.crockford@ks.usda.gov

Dickinson Co.

Feb. 26

Woodbine

James Coover

KSRE

785-263-2001

jcoover@ksu.edu

Saline Co.

Feb. 28

Salina

Tom Maxwell

KSRE

785-309-5850

tmaxwell@ksu.edu

Rooks Co.

Mar. 8

Stockton

Dorothy Heim

FSA

785-425-6302

dorothy.heim@ks.usda.gov

 

 

 

Walt Fick, Range Management Specialist
whfick@ksu.edu