Kansas State University

  1. K-State Home
  2. »Agronomy Home
  3. »K-State Agronomy eUpdates eUpdates
  4. »eUpdate 491 January 30th, 2015»K-State Soybean Production Schools scheduled for early February

K-State Agronomy eUpdates eUpdates

Department of Agronomy

Kansas State University

1712 Claflin Rd.

2004 Throckmorton PSC

Manhatan, KS 66506

785-532-6101

agronomy@ksu.edu

Extension Agronomy

K-State Soybean Production Schools scheduled for early February

A series of four K-State Soybean Production Schools will be offered in early February to provide in-depth training targeted for soybean producers and key-stakeholders. The schools will be held at four locations around the state. The schools will be sponsored by Kansas Soybean Commission.

The one-day schools will cover a number of issues facing soybean growers: irrigation management; weed control strategies; crop production practices, nutrient and soil fertility, insect, and disease management.

The final dates and specific locations have been set. The focus of the Soybean Schools will be in east central, southeast, north central, and south central Kansas.

  • Feb. 3: Salina – Ambassador Hotel, 1616 W. Crawford St.
    Contact information:
    Tom Maxwell, Central Kansas District, tmaxwell@ksu.edu 785-309-5850
  • Feb. 4: Derby – Derby Welcome/Senior Center, 11 N Mulberry Rd.
    Contact information:
    Zach Simon, Sedgwick County Extension, zsimon@ksu.edu 316-660-0153
  • Feb. 5: Independence – Civic Center, 410 North Penn Ave.
    Contact information:
    Jeri Sigle, Wildcat Extension District, jlsigle@ksu.edu 620-331-2690
  • Feb. 6: Sabetha – North Ridge Church, 316 Lincoln St.
    Contact information:
    David Hallauer, Meadowlark Extension District, dhallaue@ksu.edu 785-863-2212
    Matt Young, Brown County Extension, mayoung@ksu.edu 785-863-2212

Registration for each school is at 8:30 a.m. The program begins at 9 a.m. and adjourns at 3:30 p.m.

Lunch will be provided, courtesy of the Kansas Soybean Commission. There is no cost to attend, but participants are asked to pre-register by Feb 3. Online registration is available at K-State Soybean Schools (http://bit.ly/KSUSoybean) or by emailing or calling the nearest local K-State Research and Extension office for the location participants plan to attend.

To see the presentations from the 2014 K-State Soybean Schools, go to:
http://www.agronomy.k-state.edu/extension/crop-production/soybeans/soybean-schools/2014-soybean-school/index.html

 

Ignacio Ciampitti, Crop Production and Cropping Systems Specialist
ciampitti@ksu.edu

Doug Shoup, Southeast Area Crops and Soils Specialist

dshoup@ksu.edu

Stu Duncan, Northeast Area Crops and Soils Specialist
sduncan@ksu.edu