Kansas State University

  1. K-State Home
  2. »Agronomy Home
  3. »K-State Agronomy eUpdates eUpdates
  4. »eUpdate 487 December 22nd, 2014»K-State Corn Production Management Schools scheduled for January

K-State Agronomy eUpdates eUpdates

Department of Agronomy

Kansas State University

1712 Claflin Rd.

2004 Throckmorton PSC

Manhatan, KS 66506

785-532-6101

agronomy@ksu.edu

Extension Agronomy

K-State Corn Production Management Schools scheduled for January

Schedules have now been set for two K-State Corn Production Management Schools in early January 2015 in northeast and central Kansas. Primary sponsors of the schools include the Kansas Corn Commission and DuPont Pioneer.

The one-day schools will cover several current corn topics relevant to corn producers in Kansas: drought-tolerant hybrids, high-yielding corn factors, weed control, soil fertility, and price and market perspectives.

The schools will begin at 9 a.m. and adjourn at 2 p.m., followed by a tour of facilities. Topics and K-State Research and Extension speakers at each school are:

  • Weed control in corn may become increasingly difficult – Curtis Thompson, Weed Management Specialist
  • Drought-tolerant technology: Yield benefits? – Ignacio Ciampitti, Crop Production and Cropping Systems Specialist
  • Corn markets and profitability prospects – Dan O’Brien, Agricultural Economist
  • Cost-efficient corn fertilization in 2015 – Dave Mengel, Soil Fertility Specialist

The dates and locations are:

Jan. 9: Hesston, AGCO building, 420 W. Lincoln Blvd
Local Research and Extension office contacts:
Ryan Flaming, Harvey County, flaming@ksu.edu 316-284-6930
Jonie James, McPherson County, jjames@ksu.edu 620-241-1523
Rickey Roberts, Marion County, rroberts@ksu.edu 620-382-2325
Darren Busick, Reno County, darrenbusick@ksu.edu 620-662-2371
Zach Simon, Sedgwick County, zsimon@ksu.edu 316-660-0153

Jan. 16: Atchison, Atchison Heritage Conference Center, 710 S. Ninth
Local Research and Extension office contacts:
Ray Ladd, Atchison County, cladd@ksu.edu 913-833-5450
David Hallauer, Meadowlark District, dhallaue@ksu.edu 785-863-2212
Matt Young, Brown County, mayoung@ksu.edu 785-742-7871
Mindy Young, Doniphan County, myoung5@ksu.edu 785-985-3623

Lunch will be provided, courtesy of the sponsors. There is no cost to attend, but participants are asked to pre-register before Jan. 5 for the Jan. 9 school in Hesston and Jan. 12 for the Jan. 16 school in Atchison.

 

Online registration is available at K-State Corn Production Management Schools (http://bit.ly/KSCORNSchools) or by emailing or calling the nearest local Research and Extension office for the location participants plan to attend.

For more information, contact: Ignacio Ciampitti, K-State Crop Production and Cropping Systems Specialist, ciampitti@ksu.edu 785-532-6940; or Greg Krissek, CEO Kansas Corn, gkrissek@ksgrains.com 785-448-6922.

eUpdate12052014-A03-F01