Kansas State University

  1. K-State Home
  2. »Agronomy Home
  3. »K-State Agronomy eUpdates eUpdates
  4. »eUpdate 729 January 25th, 2019»Don't miss the K-State Sorghum Schools scheduled for early February

K-State Agronomy eUpdates eUpdates

Department of Agronomy

Kansas State University

1712 Claflin Rd.

2004 Throckmorton PSC

Manhatan, KS 66506

785-532-6101

agronomy@ksu.edu

Extension Agronomy

Don't miss the K-State Sorghum Schools scheduled for early February

 

A series of three K-State Sorghum Production Schools will be offered in early February to provide in-depth training targeted for sorghum producers and key-stakeholders. The schools are sponsored by Kansas Grain Sorghum Commission.

 

 

The final dates and locations have been set focusing with Schools across the state. Each school will start with registration at 8:30 a.m. and welcome remarks at 9:00 a.m. The program will adjourn at 1:30 p.m. for all the schools.

  • February 5, Tuesday - Garden City
    The Golf Club at Southwind
    77 Grandview Dr.
    Contact: Jennifer Stoss -  jstoss@ksu.edu
     
  • February 6, Wednesday - Hays
    K-State Agricultural Research Center
    1232 240th Ave.
    Contact: Stacy Campbell -  scampbel@ksu.edu
     
  • February 7, Thursday - Salina
    Saline County Expo Center
    4-H Building
    900 Greeley
    Contact: Carl Garten - cgarten@ksu.edu

The schools will cover a number of issues facing sorghum growers including: risk management, marketing opportunities, weed control, crop production practices, nutrient management and soil fertility, and insect management. CCA/CEU credits have been applied for at all locations.

Lunch will be provided, courtesy of the Kansas Grain Sorghum Commission. There is no cost to attend, but participants are asked to pre-register by January 29. Online registration is available at K-State Sorghum Schools (http://bit.ly/KSUSorghum) or by emailing/calling the nearest local K-State Research and Extension office nearest the location participants plan to attend.

 

 

Ignacio Ciampitti, Crop Production and Cropping Systems Specialist
ciampitti@ksu.edu

Pat Damman, Kansas Grain Sorghum Commission
pat@ksgrainsorghum.org

Kathy Gehl, Extension Program Coordinator
kgehl@ksu.edu