Kansas State University

  1. K-State Home
  2. »Agronomy Home
  3. »K-State Agronomy eUpdates
  4. »eUpdate 545 January 22nd, 2016»K-State Sorghum Schools scheduled for early February

K-State Agronomy eUpdates

Department of Agronomy

Kansas State University

1712 Claflin Rd.

2004 Throckmorton PSC

Manhatan, KS 66506

785-532-6101

agronomy@ksu.edu

Extension Agronomy

K-State Sorghum Schools scheduled for early February

A series of four K-State Sorghum Production Schools will be offered in early-February 2016 to provide in-depth training for sorghum producers. The schools will be sponsored by Kansas Grain Sorghum Commission.

The one-day schools will cover issues facing sorghum producers: weed control strategies, crop production practices, soil fertility and nutrient management, insect control, irrigation, limited irrigation and iron chlorosis (western Kansas), sugarcane aphid, and risk management.

The schools will begin at 9 a.m. and adjourn at 3 p.m., including a farmer panel at the end of the School. The dates and locations are:

Feb. 2: Scott City: Wm. Carpenter 4-H Building, 608 N Fairground Rd
- John Beckman, Scott County Extension Agent, jbeckman@ksu.edu, 620-872-2930

Feb. 3: Phillipsburg: Phillips County Fair Building, 1481 US-183
- Cody Miller, Phillips-Rooks District Extension Agent, codym@ksu.edu, 785-543-6845

Feb. 4: Ellsworth: American Legion Post 174, 645 W 15th St
- Michelle Buchanan, Midway District Extension Agent, mbuchanan@ksu.edu, 785-472-4442

Feb. 5: Emporia: Bowyer Community Building, 2650 W US Hwy 50
- Brian Rees, Lyon County Extension Agent, brees@ksu.edu, 620-341-3220

Lunch will be provided, courtesy of the sponsors. There is no cost to attend, but participants are asked to pre-register before Jan. 29.

Online registration at K-State Sorghum Schools: http://bit.ly/KSSORGHUMSchools

You can also register by emailing or calling the nearest local Research and Extension office for the location you plan to attend.

For more information, contact:

 

Jill Barnhardt, Kansas Grain Sorghum Commission
jill@ksgrainsorghum.org

Ignacio Ciampitti, Crop Production and Cropping Systems Specialist
ciampitti@ksu.edu

Curtis Thompson, Weed Management Specialist
cthompso@ksu.edu

Lucas Haag, Northwest Area Crops and Soils Specialist
lhaag@ksu.edu

A.J. Foster, Southwest Area Crops and Soils Specialist
anserdj@ksu.edu

Stu Duncan, Northeast Area Crops and Soils Specialist
sduncan@ksu.edu

Doug Shoup, Southeast Area Crops and Soils Specialist
dshoup@ksu.edu