Kansas State University

  1. K-State Home
  2. »Agronomy Home
  3. »K-State Agronomy eUpdates
  4. »eUpdate 541 December 18th, 2015»K-State Sorghum Schools scheduled for early February

K-State Agronomy eUpdates

Department of Agronomy

Kansas State University

1712 Claflin Rd.

2004 Throckmorton PSC

Manhatan, KS 66506

785-532-6101

agronomy@ksu.edu

Extension Agronomy

K-State Sorghum Schools scheduled for early February

A series of four K-State Sorghum Production Schools will be offered in early February 2016 to provide in-depth training for sorghum producers. The schools will be sponsored by Kansas Grain Sorghum Commission.

The one-day schools will cover issues facing sorghum producers: weed control strategies, crop production practices, soil fertility and nutrient management, insect control, irrigation, limited irrigation and iron chlorosis (western Kansas), sugarcane aphid, and risk management.

All the Schools will offer CEU (Crop Certified Advisor) and Commercial Pesticide Applicators credits.

The schools will begin at 9 a.m. and adjourn at 3 p.m., including a farmer panel at the end of the School. The dates and locations are:

Feb. 2 - Scott City: Wm. Carpenter 4-H Building, 608 N Fairground Rd

- John Beckman, Scott County, jbeckman@ksu.edu, 620-872-2930

Feb. 3 - Phillipsburg: Phillips County Fair Building, 1481 US-183

- Cody Miller, Phillips-Rooks District, codym@ksu.edu, 785-543-6845

Feb. 4 - Ellsworth: American Legion Post 174, 645 W 15th St

- Michelle Buchanan, Midway District, mbuchanan@ksu.edu, 785-472-4442

Feb. 5 - Emporia: Bowyer Community Building, 2650 W US Hwy 50

- Brian Rees, Lyon County, brees@ksu.edu, 620-341-3220

 

Lunch will be provided, courtesy of the sponsors. There is no cost to attend, but participants are asked to pre-register before Jan. 29.

Online registration at K-State Sorghum Schools: http://bit.ly/KSSORGHUMSchools

An alternative to the online registration is by emailing or calling the nearest local Research and Extension office for the location participants plan to attend.

For more information, contact:

Jill Barnhardt, Kansas Grain Sorghum Commission, jill@ksgrainsorghum.org

Ignacio Ciampitti, Crop Production and Cropping Systems Specialist, ciampitti@ksu.edu

Curtis Thompson, Weed Management Specialist, cthompso@ksu.edu

K-State Area Extension Agronomists:

Lucas Haag, Northwest Area Crops and Soils Specialist, lhaag@ksu.edu

AJ Foster, Southwest Area Crops and Soils Specialist, anserdj@ksu.edu

Stu Duncan, Northeast Area Crops and Soils Specialist, sduncan@ksu.edu

Doug Shoup, Southeast Area Crops and Soils Specialist, dshoup@ksu.edu