Kansas State University

  1. K-State Home
  2. »Agronomy Home
  3. »K-State Agronomy eUpdates
  4. »eUpdate 538 November 20th, 2015»K-State Corn Production Management Schools scheduled for January

K-State Agronomy eUpdates

Department of Agronomy

Kansas State University

1712 Claflin Rd.

2004 Throckmorton PSC

Manhatan, KS 66506

785-532-6101

agronomy@ksu.edu

Extension Agronomy

K-State Corn Production Management Schools scheduled for January

Three K-State Corn Production Management Schools will be offered in early January 2016 in southeast, southwest, and central Kansas. Each school will provide in-depth training targeted for corn producers. Primary sponsors of the schools include the Kansas Corn Commission and DuPont Pioneer.

The one-day schools will cover several current corn topics relevant to corn producers in Kansas: drought-tolerant hybrids, high-yielding corn factors, weed control, soil fertility, and price and market perspectives.

The schools will begin at 9 a.m. and adjourn at 3 p.m., including a tour of facilities or a keynote speaker. The dates and locations are:

Jan. 11: Independence: Civic Center. N Penn Ave & W Locust St

Local Research and Extension office contacts:

- Jeri Geren, Montgomery County- Wildcat District, jlsigle@ksu.edu 620-331-2690


- Josh Coltrain, Crawford County- Wildcat District, jcoltrain@ksu.edu 620-724-8233


- Keith Martin, Labette County- Wildcat District, rkmartin@ksu.edu 620-784-5337

- Dale Helwig, Cherokee County, dhelwig@ksu.edu 620-429-3849


- Chris Petty, Bourbon County- Southwind District, cgp@ksu.edu 620-223-3720

 

Jan. 14: Garden City: Clarion Inn, 1911 E Kansas Ave

Local Research and Extension office contacts:

- Katelyn Barthol, Finney County, kbarth25@ksu.edu, 620-272-3670

- Andrea Burns, Ford County, aburns@ksu.edu, 620-227-4542

- Kurt Werth, Grey County, kwerth@ksu.edu, 620-855-3821

- Lacey Noterman, Haskell County, lnote@ksu.edu, 620-675-2261

- Bill Haney, Kearny County, haney@ksu.edu, 620-355-6551

- John Beckman, Scott County, jbeckman@ksu.edu, 620-872-2930

Jan. 15: Salina: Great Plains, 1525 E North St

Local Research and Extension office contacts:

- Tom Maxwell, Central Kansas District, tmaxwell@ksu.edu 785-309-5850

- Jonie James, McPherson County, jjames@ksu.edu 620-241-1523

- James Coover, Dickinson County, jcoover@ksu.edu 785-263-2001

- Michelle Buchanan, Midway District, mbuchanan@ksu.edu 785-472-4442

- Kim Larson, River Valley District, kclarson@ksu.edu 785-243-8185

 

Lunch will be provided courtesy of the sponsors. There is no cost to attend, but participants are asked to pre-register before Jan. 8.

Online registration is available at K-State Corn Schools: http://bit.ly/KSCORNSchools

You can also preregister by emailing or calling the nearest local Research and Extension office for the location you plan to attend.

For more information, contact:

Greg Krissek, CEO Kansas Corn
gkrissek@ksgrains.com 785-448-6922.

Ignacio Ciampitti, K-State Crop Production and Cropping Systems Specialist
ciampitti@ksu.edu 785-532-6940

Lucas Haag, Northwest Area Crops and Soils Specialist
lhaag@ksu.edu

AJ Foster, Southwest Area Crops and Soils Specialist
anserdj@ksu.edu

Stu Duncan, Northeast Area Crops and Soils Specialist
sduncan@ksu.edu

Doug Shoup, Southeast Area Crops and Soils Specialist
dshoup@ksu.edu